In 1641 all males, aged 18 and above, were required to pledge their allegiance to the Church of England.

Lists were compiled consisting of the signatures or marks of those who did so.
Ascott, OliverHalle, StephenPengelly, Henry
Bayly, ThomasHalle, WalterPengelly, John
Bickle, ArthurHalle, WilliamPengelly, John
Bickle, ChristopherHockaday, AndrewPengelly, Roger
Bickle, JohnHutchins, ThomasPengelly, Roger
Bickle, RogerJordan, TimothyPengelly, William
Blagdon, RichardLange, JohnPengelly, William
Blithe, RichardLangford, AndrewPengelly, William
Breyly. AlexanderLangford, ThomasPommery, John
Brooke, TristramLavers, EdmundPrynn, Thomas
Burnard, GeoffreyLavers, WilliamReed, Armisettle .
Burnbye, Richard gentLee, EdwardRowe, Richard
Caddie, PhilipLeonard, WilliamRowe, Thomas
Chastie, EdwardLuxmoore, JohnSaunders, John
Chastie, HenryMartin, JohnSkelly, Henry
Chastie, RichardMason, RichardSkelly, Thomas
Cockram, ThomasMaye, ChristopherSoale, Robert
Collier, GeorgeMaye, ChristopherSoper, Henry
Coome, JohnMaye, GeoffreySoper, John
Coryndon, Henry gentMaye, JohnSoper, Laurence
Coryndon, JohnMaye, JohnSoper, Nicholas
Coryndon, JohnMaye, MosesSouthwoode, John
Coryndon, Thomas gentMaye, RogerStamburie, Henry
Cripson, JohnMaye, ThomasStambury, John
Cripson, ThomasMetter, DavidStambury, Samuel
Crosse, JohnMetter, JohnStukie, John
Delve, RichardMetter, WilliamTapson, Thomas Esq
Downe, DanielMetter, WilliamTapson, Robert
Downe, JohnNorris, ArthurTickle, John
Downe, WilliamNorris, JohnToll, Roger
Drake, IsaacNorris, JohnTom, Moses
Eastabrooke, JohnNorris, RichardTrobble, Nathaniel
Ellis, RogerNorris, TimothyTurner, George
Escott, ArthurNorris, WilliamVawden, Richard
Escott, WilliamNorthcott, ThomasVawden, Richard
Estcott, HenryPeirse, JohnVawden, William
Estcott, HenryPeirse, JohnWalter, John
Forsselett, GeorgePeirse, RogerWhite, Tobias
Gaye, JohnPengelly, AndrewWhite, William
Haine, JohnPengelly, DavidYeoldon, John
Richard Mervine Parson John Chastie Overseer
John Ellacott Clerk John Amodes Overseer
William Smallacombe ChurchwardenDavid Vawden Constable
Moses Langford gentArthur Doidge Constable
John Ascott Overseer 
(All the above names in the same hand)
to Parish List
to OPC Home Page

Enquiries to Neil STANTON