In 1641 all males, aged 18 and above, were required to pledge their allegiance to the Church of England.

Lists were compiled consisting of the signatures or marks of those who did so.
Protestation Returns 1641 Kelly
Blaggadon, JohnHorrell, JohnSergeant, John
Cruse, BennetJordan, GabrielSleyman, Constantine
Cruse, JohnKelly, John Esq.Sleyman, John
Delve, AndrewKelly, Oliver gentSleyman, William
Delve, GeorgeKnight, ThomasSleyman, Zachary
Edgcombe, OliverKnight, Tristram Speire, Constantine
Featherstone , John Littlejohn, BennetSpeire, John
Foote, HenryLobb, RogerSpeire, Thomas
Geest, John Marks, Peter Speire, William
Gerie, William sen.Martyn, JohnStoakman, Leonard
Glowyn, William Martyn, Michael Turner, William
Govie, William jun.Maynard, ThomasVynton, Andrew
Harvey, John sen.Moorton, JamesWalkie, John
Harvey, John jun.Penwarden, ObidiahWestcott, John
Harvey, OliverPenwarden, ZachariasWhite, James
Hill, WilliamRedecleive, Roger 
Home, FrancisReede, Robert 
(The above names in the same hand, the following four are signatures)
Hugh Hill ParsonWilliam Jordan Churchwarden
Constantine Roe + ConstableWilliam Adam Overseer
to Parish List
to OPC Home Page

Enquiries to Neil STANTON